Lemon curd delight

When I am asked the question “what is your favorite food?” I am stumped. My favorites change depending on what new food I have discovered, or what the weather’s like, or what I had for breakfast. But one favorite that has stood the test of time has been lemons!

I love lemons in dessert. There is nothing better than having a slice of lemon meringue pie after a good dinner. Or a bad dinner. (But really, do those exist?) Or just for! I remember one year my mom asked me what cake I wanted for my birthday and I requested one of her delicious lemon meringue pies. I waited in anticipation for a week, and when it arrived it was amazing. My fatal mistake was having friends around for tea – they scoffed it all and I ended up with only one tiny slice! I still get sad just thinking about it…

Last week Mama and Papa C gifted Frank and I with some eggs. And by some, I mean two dozen. They are delicious free-range eggs, and they deserve to be made into something special. As luck would have it, Papa C’s lemon tree has been going crazy in the sunshine and has produced a bonza crop of lemons, so we were gifted a dozen lemons to go with the eggs. I wracked my brain for a recipe to use the eggs and lemons, and with a lot of inspiration from Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella’s post on finger lime caviar butter I decided to make lemon curd. As I have never made any sort of curd before, and I am currently in “daring cook” mode, I thought there is no better time to give it a try. It isn’t nearly as exciting as Lorraine’s, but hopefully I’ll get to make that one soon!

Tangy lemon curd – adapted from Good Housekeeping’s Step-by-step cookbook

4 lemons
4 eggs, very lightly beaten
100g butter, chopped into small cubes
350g castor sugar
600ml glass jar for storage

The recipe recommends using a double boiler. I used a metal mixing bowl over a smaller pan of boiling water.

Wash jar in warm, soapy water. Place in an oven preheated to 120C for 10-15 minutes until the jar is dry. Keep aside.
Zest and juice lemons, and put these in a mixing bowl or double boiler.

lemon zest and juice

Add the butter, sugar and eggs; and place bowl over a pan of simmering water. Heat until sugar has dissolved, stirring continuously.

ingredients on the stove

Continue to heat, without boiling, for 20 minutes.

after 10 minutes over the heat

Remove bowl from the heat, and strain the mixture through a sieve. Pour the strained mixture into the jar, allow to cool and store in the fridge. The curd should be eaten within two weeks.

straining the mixture

Lemon curd can be used in pastry cases, for the base of lemon meringue pie, or to spread on toast! I doubled the recipe up and will be taking a jar up to Mama and Papa C to say thank you for the lovely ingredients.

ready to eat!


3 Responses to “Lemon curd delight”


  1. 1 Tes 19/06/2010 at 9:45 pm

    It looks amazing. I love the recipe. I wanna to try it on toast. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 20/06/2010 at 12:31 am

    Well done! your jars of lemon curd look fantastic! And I’m glad the finger lime butter provided inspiration 😀

  3. 3 Renae 22/06/2010 at 6:04 pm

    I have never canned lemon curd before! Now I want to try it. I’ve always frozen it, kind of like freezer jam. Not that it lasts long in my house, we love the stuff.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

