Quick and easy lemon curd

Frank and I made a trip up to see Mama and Papa C on the weekend past. Papa C’s lemon and orange trees have been going crazy at the moment, and despite the bumper crop I got last week there were still copious amounts of fruit on the trees. Mama C and I immediately got the ladder out of the garage and started pillaging the lemon tree, and I came home with about 40 lemons and 15 oranges! (and 2 dozen eggs, but who’s counting eh?)

Mama C and I also spent the weekend checking out the local food stores and delis, so I cam back with a delicious bag of goodies including some orange blossom water and my favorite Dutch cookies. A shop I would recommend if you are ever up near Newcastle is Bibina, it is amazing and stocks just about everything an amateur cook would want.

Now I can hear you say “she’s already posted a recipe for lemon curd”, but this recipe is different. As much as I love doing things the proper way, when you need a quick lemon curd, or you have copious amounts of lemons and eggs, this recipe is fantastic. It has more lemon juice than the last one, so is much more tangy and cuts through any surrounding sweetness. It is also a lot smoother, and sets firmer, so perfect for tarts and pastries. I made this curd to include in my seasonal cupcakes (see the next post coming up!)

I wrote this recipe on a post-it to take home with me, instead of using company stationery for personal use like I normally do. What I would recommend is you don’t stick any post-it notes on cupboards near gas stoves that are on, as the sticky back isn’t sticky enough to save you from a small kitchen fire!

Microwave lemon curd (makes two cups) – recipe from Allrecipes.com

1 cup white sugar
3 eggs
1 cup fresh lemon juice
3 lemons, zested
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

In a microwave-safe bowl, whisk together the sugar and eggs until smooth. Stir in lemon juice, lemon zest and butter. Cook in the microwave for one minute intervals, stirring after each minute until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon. Remove from the microwave, and pour into small sterile jars. Store for up to three weeks in the refrigerator.

If you can’t be bothered taking the pips out, just squeeze them into the bowl and strain them out once the curd has cooked!

3 Responses to “Quick and easy lemon curd”


  1. 1 Tes 29/06/2010 at 5:20 pm

    This looks really easy! I love how creamy orange it looks in the jar. ummmm delicious! I have to try this.

  2. 2 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 30/06/2010 at 1:58 pm

    I’ve done one in the microwave and you’re right, it is SO easy! 😀

  3. 3 queenbeeeatsforaday 30/06/2010 at 10:54 pm

    I’ve never thought of using the microwave…though I’ve never actually made lemon curd – seemed too scary.

    The only scary thing about this seems to be that kitchen fairy trying to burn the place down!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

