“Fettucine bolognaise – ta dah!”

It was my birthday two months ago, and, at the request of Frank, I made a list of what I wanted. (A verbal list of course, wouldn’t want to make it too easy!) Most of the items on the list related to cooking, which made me incredibly excited for the actual day. One of the fantastic presents I got was a pasta maker from Popsie & Parksie, which I wanted for ages and was forbidden to buy. And it isn’t just any pasta maker, it is a beautiful pasta maker.

As I am on a mission to make food from scratch, I tried to make fresh tortellini a couple of months ago. At that stage I didn’t have a pasta maker, or even a rolling pin, so I used an empty wine bottle dusted in flour. It felt like I was running backwards on a treadmill, every time I rolled the darned dough out it shrank back to its original size within seconds! I persevered until I got the dough slightly bigger, and then continued to make the tortellini with 5mm thick pasta dough. Needless to say, Frank had a massive sigh of relief when he saw my new pasta maker, as he had to chew though all the tortellini I put on his plate!

I’ve had some issues with my stomach lately, and I’ve been put on a gluten-free diet. Unfortunately this happened right after my birthday, so I haven’t been able to make any pasta. After Popsie asked me for the third time if I’ve used my shiny new gadget, I decided to cheat on my diet for one night (or perhaps once every night as it seems lately…) and crack out my new baby! Following the recipe provided in the manual, I managed to make the thinnest, most wonderful fettucine ever to grace the Pig Palace kitchen – if I don’t mind saying so myself! Not only was the pasta easy to make (so no cursing coming from the kitchen, Frank was even worried at how quiet it was), it was really fun. I made fettucine to go with bolognaise, but next time I’ll be giving the tortellini another go!
Fresh pasta – from my Pasta Roller manual

2 eggs
2 cups ’00’ flour

Put the flour directly on a workbench.

Make a well in the middle and add the eggs. Beat the eggs with a fork, while slowly incorporating flour from the sides of the well. Once you can no longer beat with a fork, start kneading the dough until smooth. Form into a ball, cover with cling wrap and leave on the bench for 30 minutes. Cut dough into 6 pieces and run them all through a pasta roller – 6 to 8 times on the widest setting, and once on every setting after that getting progressively smaller.

Feed through cutter and hang up to dry. Boil for 2 to 3 minutes and serve!

3 Responses to ““Fettucine bolognaise – ta dah!””


  1. 1 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 12/07/2010 at 5:48 am

    Well done on making your own fettucine! It’s so satisfying isn’t it like making your own bread 🙂

  2. 2 Ellie 13/07/2010 at 3:15 pm

    Fresh pasta! Wow! I am in awe. I once tried to make ravioli and that did not turn out so well. Happy Birthday! Enjoy your awesome present.

  3. 3 Queen Bee 14/07/2010 at 11:09 pm

    Beautifully done!

    I find making pasta tedious, my grandmother and mother had done it from time to time, but it’s just not my favorite thing in the kitchen…however I do LOVE to eat it.

    I make a killer Fettucine Alfredo which is our go-to meal (super easy) when I don’t feel like cooking, fab with grilled shrimp or chicken mixed in, too! Here’s the link if you want to check it out http://queenbeeeatsforaday.wordpress.com/2009/03/23/fettucine-alfredo-quick-and-easy/


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

