Lemon curd cupcakes for a special little girl

I am the baby in my family. I have a very tall older brother who goes by the name of Dude, who was my hero and tormentor (sorry Dude) until I was old enough to run fast. Now that we are both adults (well, perhaps only some of the time) he is no longer my tormentor, but still manages to be my hero.

I was, and always will be, the baby sister in his eyes. When we were kids it was because I was always much smaller and knew less about the world than he did. Now it is because I am much shorter and know less about the world than he does! Being the baby sister has its benefits. When we were at the same university all his friends knew me and called me by the same nickname as Dude did. So I knew when someone was yelling “Snollie!” across campus it would either be Dude or one of his friends. (I seem to have a runny nose frequently, hence the name) Because they were his friends, and I was his baby sister, they began to treat me like their baby sister too. And I was lucky enough to gain some extra family members in the process!

When Dude started University he met a guy called Swede in his class. Swede is a wonderful guy from, you guessed it, Sweden. He and Chris used to party together, often telling us he was “too old for this sh*t”. On one of their nights out they met a beautiful girl called Nix, who became a regular in the crowd. After a few years of knowing each other (and my mom predicting it), Nix and Swede fell in love and got married. Swede and Mrs Swede then moved across the globe, eventually ending up in Australia.

When I moved over here, it was a comfort to know that I had family already here. Swede and Mrs Swede have always been honorary members of our family, and I know my parents and Dude feel exactly the same way. Mrs Swede (as mentioned in my sponge cake post) is an amazing chef. AMAZING. She has been a big influence in my cooking, and Frank and I get very excited when we go to the Swedes for a visit.

As of Monday at 4:30am there has been a new addition to the Swede clan of three. (The Swedes have one gorgeous mini-Swede already) To celebrate, I decided to put my new-found cupcake decorating skills to the test. Luckily I had bought new pink and purple food colouring last week, and some little flower cutters, so I was ready to go! Using my favorite recipe, I made some lemon cupcakes. I cut little pockets in them and filled them up with fresh lemon curd. Once the tops were on I covered and decorated them with fondant. Now they will be taken to see the new addition tomorrow morning, I can’t wait!

Lemon fondant cupcakes – adapted from “Little cakes with attitude” by Kate Shirazi

1 cup self-raising flour, sifted
1/2 cup castor sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup soft margarine
2 eggs
zest of two lemons
1 tbsp lemon juice

jar fresh lemon curd
fondant icing
selection of food colours

Preheat oven to 180C/ 160C fan-forced and line a 12-hole muffin tin. Put all cupcakes ingredients in a bowl and beat until light and fluffy. Fill muffin cups and bake in oven for 20 minutes, until firm to the touch.

Take out and cool. Once cooled, cut holes into top of cakes and fill with lemon curd.

Put the tops on and cover in fondant. Colour and cut out extra fondant and decorate cakes. Enjoy!

Cupcake on Foodista

8 Responses to “Lemon curd cupcakes for a special little girl”


  1. 1 Anna Johnston 31/07/2010 at 9:26 pm

    Lovely story & lovely cupcakes.

  2. 2 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 01/08/2010 at 1:01 am

    Very cute! LOL I did pretty much the same cupcake for a friend’s new arrival a couple of years ago (but with different decos). I think they are so delicate and gorgeous as befitting a little girl

  3. 3 Tes 01/08/2010 at 1:27 am

    These cupcakes are so adorable! I love the lovely story at the beginning of the post, too. 🙂

  4. 4 Nick 01/08/2010 at 4:47 am

    They look amazing – almost a shame to spoil them by eating! But I bet they taste fab too – do you export to Mud Island?? 🙂

    XXX

  5. 5 Honey @ honeyandsoy 01/08/2010 at 12:50 pm

    How adorable!! My favourite is the one covered in flowers… and I love the eye popping colours you chose for the fondant icing!

  6. 6 Alisa 01/08/2010 at 7:00 pm

    What a wonderful post, congrats to the Swedes too 🙂 I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I really like what you have here.If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  7. 7 pierre 01/08/2010 at 7:17 pm

    you have made very nice little cupcakes I love when food is joyfull !! Pierre de Paris


  1. 1 Twitted by lollcakes Trackback on 31/07/2010 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

