Warming smoked sausage stew

I have adjusted! Today was a great day as I’ve finally picked up my stride at work and am starting to settle in. All we humans need is a little time. So, in the theme of today, I have made a list of good things that made up my day.

1. I had a delicious muffin for breakfast

2. I treated myself to something I really should have bought a long time ago, Nigella Lawson’s How to be a domestic goddess

3. I found out I’m allowed a free half-day’s holiday as I worked back these past two weeks

4. We had the most amazing custard/pastry thing to celebrate one of the chef’s birthdays. Not only was it delicious, but the chef is a minor celebrity and I was chuffed!

5. My monthly subscription to Australian Good Food magazine was waiting for me in the post box, so now I have something new to read before bed

6. Frank walked me home from the station tonight. We haven’t gone to or from the station together in ages.

7. I FOUND MY SENSE OF HUMOUR! Woo hoo, I was worried this one was gone for good after last week

8. I discovered there is a departmental dance (not the noun but the verb), and this dance I have been eager to attempt in public for almost 5 years now. See the dog on this link.

9. I sang “Lady in red” and “when a man loves a woman” with the radio to Frank. Nothing gets him running out the room quite like it!

10. I attempted dance from point 8 while cooking dinner. Frank just looked at me with a mix of fear and confusion.

As fantastic as it is have my ‘groove’ back, I was late home again tonight. I was held up at work as I was discussing cook books with my colleague. (How many? Stopped counting. Which ones? AWW, with a good mix of others. Which are good? ALL!) So when I got home I was in search of something quick and hearty for dinner. I had picked up some rookwurst on Tuesday night, so I decided to make a sausage casserole/stew and serve it with some pasta. Once again, it was slightly on the spicy side (and Frank’s response is “when is it NOT spicy?”) but it warmed us up and filled our bellies, which is what food was made to do.

Rookwurst stew – a lollcakes original

Serves three big eaters, so probably four normal…

350g smoked sausage (you can use chorizo if you can’t find smoked sausage), sliced
1 brown onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 red chilli (add more or less, depending on your taste)
1 carrot, chopped into cubes
1 capsicum, chopped into cubes
1 courgette, chopped into cubes
1 tin tomatoes
3 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp smoked paprika
1 tsp chicken stock powder
1 tsp brown sugar
1/4 cup red wine
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

To serve:
grated cheese and either pasta or rice

Fry onion and garlic until soft, add chilli and paprika and fry until fragrant. Add in sausages and fry for a couple of minutes. Add in tin of tomatoes, tomato paste, stock powder, sugar, Worcestershire sauce and red wine; stir to combine. Add in carrot and simmer for 15 minutes. Put pasta on to boil, and add capsicum and courgette to stew. Simmer until pasta is done, then toss pasta into sauce.
Top with grated cheese and pile into a bowl.
Enjoy!

Frank reading his book while I'm cooking 🙂

5 Responses to “Warming smoked sausage stew”


  1. 1 Honey @ honeyandsoy 05/08/2010 at 10:37 pm

    Aww I love that feel good list. And I laughed at the bit about you singing… when my mum does that, we all definitely scoot! Lady in red is one of her favourite renditions too.. goodness I cringe just thinking about it!

  2. 2 Tes 06/08/2010 at 2:24 am

    Wow your stew looks so welcoming and delicious. The recipe sounds amazing, too. I want to read how to be a domestic goddess, too. 🙂

  3. 3 Anna Johnston 06/08/2010 at 8:19 am

    Thats a fun write up. Great list of feel good things you’ve got going on there…… great that you’ve got your groove on again.
    Cheers
    Anna

  4. 4 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 06/08/2010 at 3:08 pm

    You’ve definitely had a big, fantastic food week! Glad to hear that you’ve gotten back into the groove! 😀

  5. 5 Renae 11/08/2010 at 5:28 pm

    That looks tasty! I do something similar in the fall here with a sausage called bratwurst, but adding all those veggies look so tasty!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

