Chocolate ganache cupcakes

I have long-since accepted the fact that I am a giant kid, and always will be. My favorite joke is a horse walks into a bar and the barman says “why the long face?”, I have fluorescent-pink pyjamas with monkey faces on them, and I introduce myself as an ass-istant accountant quite frequently. (I am also in hysterics when people used the word stool, I just can’t help myself) I suspect this is why Frank and I get on so well.

my special cupcake money-box

One of the important things Frank taught me (that my brother tried for years to teach me, but I was too young to pick up the lesson) is how to laugh at myself. Or, how to not be embarrassed in public. When we went shopping, Frank would disappear down an isle while I was still talking to him, and I would turn around with a leg of lamb and ask the stranger behind me if he/she thinks we should have this for dinner. At first I was embarrassed, but over time I realized that if I can’t beat him I’ll join him!

On a trip to Dan Murphy’s the other month they were playing cracking eighties songs over the radio. And this is when I discovered that Frank gets slightly embarrassed when I dance in the aisles! (Although between you and me, I think it is my dancing, and not dancing in general, that gets him embarrassed) He also thought it was funny to put the wine in the front seat so I couldn’t get in. So I sat in the back and made him chauffeur me home.

As I am a giant kid, I cannot let a birthday go by unnoticed. We get lovely cakes at work for our birthdays, but I’m so used to making something that I have decided to make chocolate cupcakes for my line manager’s birthday. I have never made cupcakes with ganache, so below is my first attempt. Everyone loved them!

Chocolate ganache cupcakes – recipe from “Cupcake Magic” by Kate Shirazi

1/2 cup self-raising flour
1/2 cup good quality cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup castor sugar
1/2 cup margarine, softened
2 eggs
2 tbsp milk
200ml thickened cream
200g good quality dark chocolate

Break chocolate up in a medium bowl. Warm cream on the stove until almost boiling, then pour over chocolate and leave to melt for 10 mins. Stir until smooth and pop in the fridge to cool.

Preheat oven to 180C/160C fan-forced, and line a 12-hole muffin tin. Sift flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and castor sugar into a large bowl. Add in margarine, eggs and milk; and beat until light and fluffy. Divide mixture between 12 muffin cases, and bake for 20 mins until the tops are firm. Remove from the pan and let cool.

https://lollcakes.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=480&action=edit&message=1

Once cool, spread ganache over cakes. Decorate as you wish!

3 Responses to “Chocolate ganache cupcakes”


  1. 1 Anna Johnston 20/08/2010 at 9:17 am

    I love the cup cake money box 🙂 And, seriously I adore cup cakes, to eat…., no so much to bake, but my brothers lovely girlfriend is a cup cake ‘nut’, so yah for me……., steady supply of cup cakes.
    Dancing at Dan Murphy’s to cracking eighties tunes sound normal to me.. 🙂

  2. 2 Honey @ honeyandsoy 20/08/2010 at 11:16 am

    OMG Soy does the same disappearing on my in supermarkets! It used to get me sooo mad cos not only would she leave me there talking to myself, I would then need to hunt down every aisle to find her! Haha… Lovely looking cupcakes! Love the way you decorated them 🙂

  3. 3 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 20/08/2010 at 8:21 pm

    Heres to all the kids at heart out there! Life’s nothing if you can’t have fun (and dance in the aisles) 😀


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

