Spicy lentil and vegetable soup – one last hurrah to winter

It is officially spring, and there is no longer an icy nip in the Sydney air. As much as I love summer, and I can’t wait for it to start, I’m going to miss having the excuse to stuff my gob with loads of comfort food. Now I’m going to have to exercise in preparation for summer! Ick!

One of the guys at work left to get married yesterdaday, and we had a very naughty pizza lunch to celebrate. So I thought: as one last farewell to winter, and to make sure I get my veggies in for the day, I’ll make my favourite winter soup – spicy lentil and vegetable. It smells wonderful, is very filling, and helps towards your five veggies  a day. It also warms you up after a chilly day.

Frank isn’t a big fan of soup, especially not lentil soup, but he eats this one with the minimal of complaints. You can add any veg you want, root vegetables are ideal for this recipe. Best served with some fresh crusty bread, it is the perfect casual dinner…

Spicy lentil and vegetable soup – another lollcakes original!
Serves 4 big appetites

1 litre vegetable/chicken stock
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 onion, finely diced
3 carrots, cubed
1 parsnip, cubed
1 swede, cubed
2 courgettes, cubed
3 potatoes/3 sweet potatoes, cubed
1.5 cups red lentils
3 tbsp mild curry powder
2 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
chilli to taste

Fry onion until transparent. Add in curry, cumin, paprika and chilli; and fry until fragrant. Add in root vegetables, tomatoes and stock and bring to the boil.

Add in lentils and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in courgettes and simmer for another 15 minutes. Serve with crusty bread.

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Spicy lentil and vegetable soup – one last hurrah to winter”


  1. 1 leeswammes 04/09/2010 at 9:45 pm

    Great recipe! I love lentil and carrot soup, but I didn’t have a recipe for it yet. Thanks!

    Here in the Netherlands it’s going to be autumn soon, and I’m sure I’ll be using the recipe all through winter.

  2. 2 Honey @ honeyandsoy 04/09/2010 at 10:35 pm

    Yum, I love lentils! And so much for Spring. Boo to this weather, though the plants and dams are happy 😉

  3. 3 Anna Johnston 05/09/2010 at 1:42 pm

    I’m liking this recipe. I’ve wished for Spring to happen and now its here I’m feeling the same as you – Oh Boy…, now I gotta give up my big hearty winter comfort food, but hey…. Spring is here… finally. This can only be a very good thing. Thanks for sharing, I’ve got all the makings of this in the house, so guess what I’m having for dinner tonight 🙂

  4. 4 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 07/09/2010 at 12:38 am

    Ooh yes spring is here but not entirely and there still is that little nip in the air. This is perfect for it! 😀


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

