Healthy carrot & banana loaf

As a kid I hated Sunday afternoons. I knew the weekend was almost over, and that school was only a few hours away. My parents used to go off for their naps and I would be left to potter around the house, trying in vain to entertain myself. Normally my brother would be out, but if he was home I would go and harrass him in an attempt to have a little fun. Although this would often end in a dunk in the pool or enough screams to wake one of my parents up, which wasn’t an ideal way to end the weekend…

This is how I felt on Sunday afternoon. Like a kid left to my own devices. Frank has been ill lately, and spent a large portion of the day asleep. Knowing that work was on the horizon, I was desperate to do something useful so the weekend wasn’t just wasted time. I had already baked a loaf cake, cleaned up our guest bedroom, and planted some lavender we bought that morning; so I was left to potter around the house not knowing what to do. My mom had recently sent me a recipe for carrot and banana cake, so I decided to make a healthy-ish one for Frank when he feels okay to eat.

This recipe is easy to adapt, and very tasty. It doesn’t have any dairy in it, so is perfect for those who are lactose intolerant.

Healthy carrot & banana loaf – adapted from the recipe in the Snowflake book of baking

100ml brown sugar (100g)
2 eggs
100ml oil
25ml water/tea/rooibos (I used rooibos of course!)
250ml whole wheat flour
10ml baking powder
5ml bicarb
250ml finely grated carrot
2 bananas, mashed
125ml seedless raisins or sultanas
125ml chopped walnuts
handful pitted dates, finely chopped

Whisk sugar, water, eggs & oil together.

Add dry ingredients alternately with carrot, bananas, raisins, walnuts and dates to egg mixture.

Pour into a greased loaf tin.  Bake in preheated oven at 180°C (350° F) for 35-40 mins.

Leave in tin for a few minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool.  Dust with icing sugar if desired.

10 Responses to “Healthy carrot & banana loaf”


  1. 1 leeswammes 21/09/2010 at 7:32 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! This sounds really good. I wanted to make carrot cake, but this looks like a more interesting recipe. I was just planning to bake something today or tomorrow so I’ll bookmark your post.

  2. 2 Ellie 21/09/2010 at 8:53 pm

    This looks like a cake that is choc-full of delicious add-ins. Yum!

  3. 3 Honey @ honeyandsoy 21/09/2010 at 9:13 pm

    Oh dear, I hope Frank is feeling better. And that you can spend quality time together after being bored last weekend, though it sounds like a really productive one!

  4. 4 Paul 21/09/2010 at 11:33 pm

    Hi.
    I am so curious as to how this will taste I have to give it a go in a week or so.

    I am a huge fan of Carrot cake, and twice in as many weeks I have made Banana cake, but never would have thought to combine the 2.

    Thanks for the idea.

  5. 5 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 22/09/2010 at 6:08 pm

    That looks like a delicious way to relieve your weekend boredom Loll! 😀

  6. 6 Tes 23/09/2010 at 3:23 am

    The cake looks so amazing! Now this is what I wanna have in the morning 🙂

  7. 7 leeswammes 23/09/2010 at 9:44 pm

    Well! I was about to make this cake, then I realized that the ingredients say 100 ml with nothing behind it! What is it that I need 100 ml of? And why did I not notice this before?

    I did check to see what ingredients I needed to buy so I don’t know how I overlooked this.

    Well, the cake will have to wait until tomorrow, unless you answer really speedy! :-0

    • 8 lollcakes 23/09/2010 at 10:35 pm

      Oh no, I’m so sorry! It’s 100ml vegetable/canola oil. Even olive oil works. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

      • 9 leeswammes 23/09/2010 at 10:50 pm

        Thanks, I thought it might be oil or butter. Do you often use oil in cakes? I’m used to butter. But oil will be fine too, I’m sure.

        Haven’t got time now to make it, but hopefully tomorrow.

      • 10 lollcakes 24/09/2010 at 12:33 pm

        I don’t normally use oil in cakes, but it’s very common in carrot cakes and it keeps the loaf nice and moist. I hope you love it as much as we do!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

