Gingerbread biscuits

My nickname isn’t Piglet for nothing. Despite the fact that my mom thinks I look exactly like him (all I need is the pointy ears apparently), I think my appetite had more influence on my name. In London, the department I worked in was known for the amount of treats in the communal area.  There was always chocolate on the shelf, and people used to hang around the door at tea time to see what we had that day.

My line manager at the time, Bockers, (who I am proud to say is a very dear friend) used to bring in treats that his wonderful wife made. Her speciality was gingerbread biscuits. Her gingerbread biscuits were so delicious that Bockers and I almost came to blows many times in order to get the last biscuit.  Her biscuits were literally like a ray of sunshine, one of the few reasons I was flying out of my seat in excitement.
It got so bad in the office that Bockers would sneak the biscuits into the communal area, I would spy them out the corner of my eye, and we would run up and snatch them as fast as we could. We ended up counting how many the other person had and arguing that the last one was ours.

Bockers is one of those people who would be classified as an anchor in people’s lives. He is the eye in his friends’ internal storms, and he is the one that turns your frown upside down. He and his wife brought me a lot of joy during my time over there, and I thought I’d attempt to do the same to my team over here. The recipe is easy to follow, and (if you like ginger) the results are delicious. I hope they bring the people in your life as much joy!

Gingerbread biscuits – recipe courtesey of Catherine Richmond, thanks Catherine!

350g Plain Flour
Up to 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
100g of butter/margarine
175g of soft light brown sugar
1 egg
4 tablespoons of golden syrup

Pre-heat oven to 190C
Put the flour, ginger and soda into a bowl and rub in the butter.

Add the sugar and stir in the syrup and egg to make a firm dough. (don’t be afraid to get your hands in at this point)

Roll out dough to about 5mm thick and cut out your shapes.

Bake for 10-15 minutes (make sure you leave plenty of space between each shape on the baking tray because they grow!)

 

My nickname isn’t Piglet for nothing. Despite the fact that my mom thinks I look exactly like him (all I need is the pointy ears apparently), I think my appetite had more influence on my name. In London, the department I worked in was known for the amount of treats in the communal area.  There was always chocolate on the shelf, and people used to hang around the door at tea time to see what we had that day.

 

My line manager at the time, Bockers, (who I am proud to say is a very dear friend) used to bring in treats that his wonderful wife made. Her speciality was gingerbread biscuits. Her gingerbread biscuits were so delicious that Bockers and I almost came to blows many times in order to get the last biscuit.  Her biscuits were literally like a ray of sunshine, one of the few reasons I was flying out of my seat in excitement.

It got so bad in the office that Bockers would sneak the biscuits into the communal area, I would spy them out the corner of my eye, and we would run up and snatch them as fast as we could. We ended up counting how many the other person had and arguing that the last one was ours.

 

Bockers is one of those people who would be classified as an anchor in people’s lives. He is the eye in his friends’ internal storms, and he is the one that turns your frown upside down. He and his wife brought me a lot of joy during my time over there, and I thought I’d attempt to do the same to my team over here. The recipe is easy to follow, and (if you like ginger) the results are delicious. I hope they bring the people in your life as much joy!

 

Gingerbread biscuits – recipe courtesey of Catherine Richmond, thanks Catherine!

 

350g Plain Flour

Up to 1 teaspoon of ground ginger

1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

100g of butter/margarine

175g of soft light brown sugar

1 egg

4 tablespoons of golden syrup

 

Pre-heat oven to 190 degrees centigrade (gas mark 5)

Put the flour, ginger and soda into a bowl and rub in the butter.  Add the sugar and stir in the syrup and egg to make a firm dough.

Roll out dough to about 5mm thick and cut out your shapes.

 

Bake for 10-15 minutes    (make sure you leave plenty of space between each shape on the baking tray because they grow!)

 

3 Responses to “Gingerbread biscuits”


  1. 1 Anna Johnston 03/04/2011 at 10:53 pm

    Owhhh, they do look good Loll 🙂 Everyone needs a Bockers in their life 🙂

  2. 2 Renae 04/04/2011 at 12:05 pm

    Those look really tasty!

  3. 3 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 04/04/2011 at 7:24 pm

    Hehe Loll you are a woman after my own heart when I read you almost came to blows over a gingerbread biscuit! 😛


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

