Mountanous walks & Turkey stir-fry!

On weekends I enjoy practicing impressions of my favourite vegetable on the couch. This, in turn, means I am not much of a walker. (Seriously, do you see any potatoes walking the streets?) With my new diet, I am more eager to get a little breeze in my hair, but before January Frank needed a giant-potato-sized crowbar to get me off the couch.

The fact that I am not much of a walker was never kept a secret from Frank. The giant sighs when a walk was suggested definitely indicated that. Despite this, he insisted on walking when we went on holidays – we walked the entire length of Istanbul, we walked Stockholm (in snow), and we walked Copenhagen (in sub-zero winds). But as Australia is such a big place, when we came here for our first visit we drove almost everywhere. *yay!*

One day on this holiday, Frank asked if I was interested in checking out the beach and “going for a little walk”. As we were in the sunshine, and I was mildly distracted, I agreed to it. Naively I asked if I need to bring my trainers, or if thongs/flip-flip flops will do. And his answer was “ah, maybe bring your trainers just in case”.

And when we arrived at the little walk the realisation hit me: Frank is great at keeping a straight face!!  I stared up at a mountain and gasped, we were at Tomaree Head.  With a 161 metre high summit, it wasn’t what I classified as a “little walk”! Needless to say, we got to the summit with the maximum amount of whining, sulking, and reluctance; and I never let him live it down. The views from the top are amazing though, so it made the whole effort worthwhile.

I liken my diet to that fateful trip to Tomaree Head. It is a long, hard slog; and I am whining and sulking all the way, (cue mini violin of pity) but in the end the whole effort will be worthwhile. So, with the maximum amount of whining and sulking, I have adapted my cooking to exclude all the allergens. As I am not allowed beef mince, I made the below recipe with turkey. It tastes surprisingly good despite being healthy, so if you’re looking for something that is full of flavour but not many calories this is the dish to try…

Spicy turkey mince – a Lollcakes original
Serves 4 normal appetites, or 3 big ones

225g rice noodles
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1 red chilli
500g turkey Mince
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 cup fresh chicken stock
2 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce (I used organic tamari as it is wheat-free)
2 teaspoons cornflour
1 tablespoon water
1 cup grated courgette
1 cup grated carrot
Handful coriander, chopped finely
Shredded red onion, for garnish

Cook noodles according to packet instructions
Heat oil in wok over a medium heat; add onion, garlic, chilli and ginger and lightly sauté for 1 minute.

Add turkey mince and increase heat to high. Cook turkey for 8 minutes till brown and toss frequently.
Reduce heat to medium and add to the turkey the carrots, stock and soy sauce.

Stir to combine and thicken with blended cornflour and water. Allow liquid to gently simmer and thicken slightly. Stir through the courgette and coriander.
To serve, divide hot noodles into serving bowls and top with cooked turkey mince and onion.

2 Responses to “Mountanous walks & Turkey stir-fry!”


  1. 1 Anna Johnston 06/04/2011 at 5:48 pm

    Aaahhh you crack me up Loll 🙂 I am imagining you winging your way through Istanbul, not to mention your delights at realisation of the size of Oz knowing there was no way you could walk your way around this island 🙂 I’ve not really investigated the delights of turkey mince, but I’ve sure seen it recommended greatly at times, glad to hear your diet is allowing yummy food though 🙂

  2. 2 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 06/04/2011 at 8:31 pm

    ROFL at the potato walking comment! You are too cute 😀 Mr NQN tries to get me to exercise more, much to my chagrin!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

lollcakes @ Twitter

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef

