Sausage and mash, South African style

It’s always slightly nerve-wracking when you start dating someone, when you start to discover the things they like and the things the don’t like. And what happens if they love something you dislike? Or they think you’re weird for owning a onesie? Or worst of all, they don’t like baked goods?

One of my friends doesn’t like any chocolate except white chocolate, he hates vinegar (in his own words, if Cindy Crawford asked him for a kiss after eating salt & vinegar chips he would shove her and run) and doesn’t eat too many vegetables. And as much as I love him as a friend, he would drive me nuts if I ever had to cook for him.

When I first met Frank I was interested to see whether he would like the same things I do. In South Africa we eat a farm-style spiced beef sausage called boerewors. It is a part of all braais (barbeques) and is one of the first things South Africans away from home will request (and the first thing we miss). Needless to say, if Frank didn’t like boerewors it would be like disliking a part of my history. *dramatic* One day in London we passed a South African stall that made boerewors rolls (boerewors on a long roll with fried onions and tomato sauce) and I suggested that Frank try one. Once he had one bite he was hooked! And so was I… 😉

When we were shopping last month Frank discovered an Aussie company that makes boerewors like the stuff you get at home. He was practically hopping on the spot! It tastes delicious, and we buy it once a week for dinner. As I seem to be making South African food lately I thought I’d share this one with you. If you have a South African shop in your area, or a Woolworths if you live in Australia, give it a try. You won’t be disappointed!

I baked my boerewors as we don’t have a coal barbeque. South Africans will be very disappointed to read that, but it’s the best I can do. I teamed it with sweet potato mash as the sausage is very rich and the sweet potato works well with the spices. Topped off with a batch of steamed veggies, it makes a lovely mid-week meal.

Boerewors and sweet potato mash – a lollcakes original

1 pack farm-style sausage/boerewors
2 sweet potatoes
pinch ginger
pinch cinnamon
salt to taste
pinch chilli flakes
25ml butter
50ml milk
vegetables or salad to serve

Preheat oven to 200C/180C fan-forced, place boerewors on a tray. DO NOT prick the skin, it keeps the moisture in the sausage.

Cook boerewors for 30 minutes, turning after 15 minutes. While the boerewors is cooking, chop the sweet potatoes into small cubes and boil for 10 to 15 minutes. Mash with the rest of the ingredients, and serve with the sausage and vegetables/salad.

2 Responses to “Sausage and mash, South African style”


  1. 1 Anna Johnston 29/08/2010 at 11:35 am

    Ohhh, this brings me back. One of my mums friends was Sth African & introduced us to Boerewors, she made such a big ‘to-do’ about it & was over the top excited like your Frank when she found it her in Oz (that was about 8 years ago).
    Sadly, our friend is no longer with us, but you know…. reading this post I’ve a feeling Boerewors just may make it to the BBQ very soon.
    Thanks for the memories.
    Cheers Anna

  2. 2 Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella 29/08/2010 at 9:01 pm

    LOL I like when you said “Or worst of all, they don’t like baked goods?” because Mr NQN doesn’t lol. I don’t think I’ve tried these but I’ve really like the South African food that I have had thus far 😀


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other subscribers

I’m a proud member of:

lollcakes Archive

All recipes are on Petitchef